Stevens Awards Honorees

  Hermes González-Bello ’89 M.S. ’95
  International Achievement Award

  Hermes González-Bello is the President of HACH in Loveland, Colorado. Previous roles include President, Pall Industrial; various positions of increasing responsibility at Danaher Corporation’s Water Platform, as President Aquafine Corporation, President HACH Environmental and Vice President & General Manager of Danaher Water Quality Group, Latin America. Earlier in his career, Hermes spent 15 years at Emerson in the Process Management and Instrumentation groups.

Hermes is a present and past member of various company and industry associations and boards such as founding member of Danaher’s Diversity & Inclusion Council, Executive Sponsor of Danaher’s LatinX Associates Resource Group, Danaher’s Latin America Board, the US Department of Commerce Environmental Technologies Trade Advisory Committee (ETTAC) and the Stevens Institute of Technology President’s Council.

Hermes holds a Bachelor Degree in Engineering Management (BE ’89) and a Master Science Degree, Management Planning (MS ’95) from Stevens Institute of Technology. During his time at Stevens Hermes served as Treasurer, VP and President of the Latin American Association, Founder and President of the National Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) and Founder and President of Lambda Theta Phi fraternity.
  Thomas J. Moschello ’63 M.S. ’65
  Lifetime Service Award

  As president of the Stevens Alumni Association (SAA), Tom Moschello led the association in signing a new Memorandum of Understanding with the university, and in rewriting the SAA constitution and bylaws, enabling the SAA to modernize further in many ways. Moschello continues to serve on the SAA’s executive committee, and he is co-captain of his class fund and an alumni participation leader with the Ad Astra Ambassadors. Moschello enjoyed a long career with Bell Telephone Laboratories, AT&T and Lucent Technologies.
  Sheila Xuan Sun ’06 M.S. ’06
  Young Alumni Achievement Award

  Sheila Sun is a business development and operations professional with 10+ years of experience across five continents. She is a founding partner and board director of Peak Investment Capital, a private equity firm focusing on small and mid-size enterprises in Sub-Saharan Africa established in 2014. Sun is on the board for the Harvard Business School Association of Southern California and served as a case discussion instructor in the Executive Management Development Program at the HBS Club of Buffalo. She dedicates her spare time to mentorship programs, photography, and cooking.
  The Ansary Family
  Friend of Stevens Award

  Cy and Jan Ansary are prominent members of the Washington, D.C. community. He is an international lawyer, financier and philanthropist. Their sons, Jeff, Brad, and Doug are managing directors of the Ansary family office, and directors of the Cy and Jan Ansary Foundation. In 2019, the family endowed prize money for the Ansary Entrepreneurship Competition at the Stevens Innovation Expo. On campus, Jeff is a member of the President’s Leadership Council, while Brad is on the Advisory Board of the School of Business.
  Aimiende I. Negbenebor Sela ’04
  Distinguished Alumni Award for Arts and Humanities

  A native of Nigeria, Aimiende Negbenebor Sela moved to New York City in the late 1990s and earned degrees in computer engineering and literature from Stevens. She left IT work after several years to pursue her passion for the arts. She is currently developing a feature-length version of her autobiographical short film, Asa, A Beautiful Girl, which won multiple awards at festivals in the United States and internationally. Her company, Sela Films, promotes movies written, directed and produced by women.
  Frank J. Effenberger ’88
  Distinguished Alumni Award for Engineering

  As a vice president of Futurewei Technologies, Frank Effenberger leads the U.S.-based research and development for Huawei, the Chinese telecom giant. In 2011, Huawei selected him as one of only six fellows among 75,000 employees. As an expert in broadband optical networks, Effenberger has secured 120 patents with dozens more in progress, and he has written more than 150 technical papers and several book chapters. Effenberger earned a doctorate in electrical engineering from the University of Central Florida.
  Richard E. Blahut M.S. ’64
  Distinguished Alumni Award for Science and Technology

  Richard Blahut has a 60-year career in information theory, digital communications and military systems. A 30-year member of the National Academy of Engineers, Blahut is an IBM Fellow and an IEEE Fellow. He received the IEEE’s Claude E. Shannon and Alexander Graham Bell awards. The author of ten textbooks, Blahut led the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Illinois. He also taught at Cornell, Princeton, South China University of Technology and Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, and he currently teaches at the University of Pennsylvania.
  Henry Morton
  Hall of Achievement

  As the first president of Stevens, Henry Morton set an enduring foundation at Castle Point. He established the university’s standard for a broad and rigorous curriculum that has prepared thousands of alumni to succeed in an array of fields. Morton also birthed a thriving culture of philanthropy by funding capital improvements, scholarships and a faculty chair. He is the namesake of an academic building and a teaching award. Before Stevens, Morton chaired the chemistry department at the University of Pennsylvania.


A premier, private research university just minutes from New York City with an incredible view and exceptional access to opportunity

Our Location

Stevens Institute of Technology

1 Castle Point Terrace
Hoboken, NJ 07030

Get in Touch