

Minutes of the Executive Committee Wesley J. Howe Center Monday, May 8, 2017

Attendance

Peter Astor '64, Enrique Blanco '72, Bruce Boylan '63, Paul Caplan '18 (student), Jeffrey Capone '91, Keith Cassidy '09, Mike Castellano (student), Leo Collins '59, John Dalton '60, Joseph DiPompeo '98, Win Froehlich '57, Anthony Grasso (student), Leon Hojegian '61, Valentino Ivezaj '15, George Johnston '72, Anita Lang, Alexander Lee '13, Richard Magee '63, Dave Manhas '88, Harvey Millman '73, Thomas Moschello '63, Bryan Rodgers (student), A. Joseph Schneider '46, Marty Valerio '68, Francis Vastano '73, Victoria Velasco '04, David Zimmerman '90 / Staff: Brodie Remington, Melissa Fuest, Elissa Guss

Call to Order

SAA President, Joe DiPompeo, called the meeting to order at 6:17pm.

Guest Speaker

DiPompeo welcomed Robert Maffia, Vice President for Facilities and Campus Operations. Maffia shared the latest updates and news regarding the campus infrastructure. He showed the group the updates with regards to the North Building, classroom renovations, the Babbio Garage, and much more. Most notably, he commented on the plans for a new university center and dorms, a project that is in its early stages.

President's Report

DiPompeo invited the student guests to stand up and introduce themselves to the Association members present.

DiPompe asked Melissa Fuest, Assistant Vice President of Alumni Engagement and Annual Giving, whether there was a quorum of the Executive Committee present. Fuest confirmed that there was a quorum: six members of the SAA Executive Committee were present.

He then stated the purpose of the SAA: *The Stevens Alumni Association is formed to establish, maintain, and cultivate among its members a sentiment of regard for one another and of attachment to Stevens Institute of Technology, and to promote in every way the interests of the institute.*

RESOLUTION: To approve the minutes from the April 3, 2017, meeting of the Executive Committee.

Motion – Peter Astor; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

Committee Reports

Classes Committee

Dick Magee gave the report for the Classes Committee. He shared the names of the committee members: Suzanne D'Addio '07, Mary Doddy '80, Tom Moschello '63, Marty Valerio '68, Melissa Fuest, AVP Alumni Affairs, George Johnston '72 (co-chair), Dick Magee '63 (co-chair).

He noted that the objective of the committee is to increase class engagement by ensuring that each class has a viable, committed and enthusiastic leadership team. The committee had a goal to identify class leadership in the classes that end in a 3 or 8 from 1958 through 2013.

The current status is: Eleven (11) Classes with Completed Slates (2003 missing). Balloting went out May 4; Class Officer Orientation webinar was completed; and background information for volunteers PowerPoint presentation was completed.

Fishing Club

Magee provided a brief update on the latest trip made by the fishing club and shared a photo of one of the fish caught.

Clubs Committee

Keith Cassidy introduced Alexander Lee, the alumni representative for the Alpha Phi Omega – Theta Alpha Alumni Club. Alexander shared the objective of the club, which is to promote the principles of Alpha Phi Omega (leadership, friendship, service) among alumni of Stevens Institute, the Theta Alpha chapter, and the fraternity.

Their short term goals include: (1) Grow membership through 2017 graduating brothers; (2) Publish a regular newsletter; and (3) Hold regular service and fellowship events. Their longer term goal is to award scholarship to member(s) for Theta Alpha 2020 graduating class.

Alexander shared the names of the leadership of the club: President - Alexander Lee; Vice President - Julie Wilkerson; Secretary - Anna DeBella; Treasurer - DJ Chapman; R1 Alumni Council Rep. - Sean Dirscherl.

RESOLUTION: To recognize the Alpha Phi Omega – Theta Alpha Alumni Club as an official club of the Stevens Alumni Association.

Motion – Tom Moschello; Seconded – Leon Hojegian; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

Old Business

RESOLUTION: To accept the change to the voting and amendment process of the 1906 Constitution.

Motion – Tom Moschello; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

New Business

DiPompeo invited those present to participate in a discussion regarding the Amended and Restated Constitution and Bylaws of the Stevens Alumni Association. A lively conversation took place

whereby Executive Committee members asked questions and debated points in the new document. Some changes were incorporated into the Amended and Restated Constitution and Bylaws.

RESOLUTION: To accept Amended and Restated Constitution and Bylaws of the Stevens Alumni Association, and recommend presentation to the Council.

Motion – Peter Astor; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – eight (8) for and one (1) abstention – Marty Valerio.

DiPompeo invited those present to participate in a discussion regarding the Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation. After some discussion, it was determined that this was a matter for the SAA Trustees to vote upon.

RESOLUTION: To recommend SAA Trustees approve the Amended and Restated Certificate of Incorporation.

Motion – Enrique Blanco; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

A resolution was presented to the EC regarding the appointment of David Zimmerman and John McDonnell as tellers for the upcoming election and vote on the Constitution and Bylaws. After some discussion the resolution was tweaked and agreed upon.

RESOLUTION: To appoint David Zimmerman '90 and John McDonnell '72 tellers for the SAA Election of the Officers and Decade Reps for FY18 and the vote on the Amended and Restated Constitution and Bylaws.

Motion – Dave Manhas; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – eight (8) for and one (1) abstention – Marty Valerio.

RESOLUTION: To adjourn the May 8 Executive Committee meeting.

Motion – Joe Schneider; Seconded – David Zimmerman; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

The meeting concluded at 8:10pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Fuest Executive Director