

Minutes of the Executive Committee Wesley J. Howe Center December 5, 2016

Attendance:

Enrique Blanco '72, Bruce Boylan '63, Leslie Brunell '86, Michael Cahill '15, Jeff Capone '91, Keith Cassidy '09, Leo Collins '59, John Dalton '60, Joe DiPompeo '98, Nicholas Gonzalez '14, Leon Hojegian '61, Tino Ivezaj '15, George Johnston '72, Andy Kaplan '09, Liz Lamb '15, Anita Lang Wenbo Liu '15, Dave Manhas '88, John McDonnell '72, Imran Merali '07, Charlie Perruzzi '63 Tyler Romeo '16, Kirit Sarvaiya '97 (phone), Roger Schatel '71, ShaQuill Thomas '15, Vicky Velasco '04, and Dave Zimmerman '90. Faculty/Staff: Melissa Fuest, Elissa Guss

Call to Order:

SAA President Joe DiPompeo '98 called the meeting to order at 5:35 pm.

He stated the purpose of the SAA: *The Stevens Alumni Association is formed to establish, maintain, and cultivate among its members a sentiment of regard for one another and of attachment to Stevens Institute of Technology, and to promote in every way the interests of the institute.*

Melissa Fuest confirmed that there was a quorum: six members of the SAA Executive Committee were present.

Approval of Minutes:

Minutes of the June 13, 2016, meeting of the Executive Committee were approved.

Motion – George Johnston; Seconded – Dave Manhas; Vote – unanimous.

Minutes of the September 12, 2016, meeting of the Executive Committee were approved.

Motion – Peter Astor; Seconded – Michael Cahill; Vote – unanimous.

President's Report:

Appointment of Tellers: DiPompeo appointed Peter Astor '64 and John McDonnell '72 as tellers.

Motion – Leslie Brunell; Seconded – George Johnston; Vote – unanimous. *Appointment of Constitution and Bylaws Committee:* In keeping with the committees outlined in the 1906 Constitution, DiPompeo '98 appointed the members of the Constitution and Bylaws Committee – Vicky Velasco '04, Dave Manhas '88, Wayne Monsees '71, Joe Weber '64, Suzanne D'Addio '07, and DiPompeo.

Motion – Michael Cahill; Seconded – Peter Astor; Vote – One opposed (Leo Collins) all others for. Motion Carried.

RESOLUTION: Allocate \$5,000 from the Stevens Alumni Association's reserve fund to engage an independent lawyer to review amending or replacing the 1906 Constitution and Bylaws and amending or replacing any related documents.

There was a question raised regarding using fellow alumni who are lawyers to conduct this work pro-bono. DiPompeo explained that the Officers strongly believe that it is in the best interest of the SAA to have a third-party review the work.

Motion – Michael Cahill; Seconded – Charlie Peruzzi; Vote – unanimous.

UPDATED RESOLUTION: To establish an Ad Hoc Committee to examine the current SAA Constitution's voting and amendment process and make recommendations to the Executive Committee on suggested updates/changes.

The Ad Hoc Committee's purpose is to review and assess the current voting and amendment process with regards to best practices employed by peer schools and Stevens needs today.

The goal of the Ad Hoc Committee is to make recommendations for updates / changes to the present Constitution *in accordance with the 1906 Constitution*.

Motion – George Johnston; Seconded – Leslie Brunell; One opposed (Leo Collins) all others for. Motion Carried.

RESOLUTION: Pending approval by the Risk & Compliance Office at Stevens, the SAA will recognize the Castle Point Riders Association as an official club.

Motion – Michael Cahill; Seconded – George Johnston; Vote – unanimous.

RESOLUTION: To adjourn the SAA Executive Committee meeting.

Motion – Michael Cahill; Seconded – George Johnston; Vote – unanimous.

The meeting concluded at 6:06pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Fuest Executive Director