

Minutes of the Council Wesley J. Howe Center June 19, 2017

Attendance:

Joe Schneider '46, Peter Astor '64, Bruce Boylan '63, Leslie Brunell '86, Michael Cahill '15, Jeff Capone '91, Keith Cassidy '09, Leo Collins '59, John Dalton '60, Joe DiPompeo '98, Win Froehlich '57, Larry Giannechini '12, Leon Hojegian '61, Tino Ivezaj '15, George Johnston '72, Andy Kaplan '09, Art Ketterer '61, Bill Landau '72, Dick Magee '63, Roman Malantchouk '10, Dave Manhas '88, Bill Martin '89, John McDonnell '72, Harvey Millman '73, Tom Moschello '63, Christopher Murphy '08, Charlie Perruzzi '63, John Spaziani '67, John Tracy '65, Marty Valerio '68, Frank Vastano '73, Vicky Velasco '04, Joe Weber '64 / Staff: Brodie Remington, Melissa Fuest, Elissa Guss

Call to Order:

SAA President, DiPompeo, called the meeting to order at 8:18pm.

Melissa Fuest confirmed that there was a quorum: a minimum of twelve members of the SAA Council were present.

Approval of Minutes:

Minutes of the May 8, 2017, meeting of the Council were approved.

Motion – John Dalton; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

New Business:

DiPompeo presented the following resolution:

RESOLUTION: Be it resolved that the Stevens Alumni Association (SAA) Council adopts waiving and replacing the following language of the SAA Constitution for FY17, only, Officer and Decade Representatives Elections:

- (a) Article VI -Elections, Section 4 (b) ... waives "fifteenth of April" and is replaced by ... "fifteenth of July".
- (b) Article VI -Elections, Section 4 (d) ... waives "June 1" and is replaced by ... "September 1".

Motion – Tom Moschello; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

John McDonnell and David Zimmerman, the appointed Tellers, were asked to come forward to present the results of the vote regarding the approval of the new SAA Constitution and Bylaws.

The Tellers certified that the balloting on the motion to adopt the new Constitution and Bylaws followed the requirements of the existing Constitution as amended earlier this year.

A total of 866 electronic ballots were cast. An overwhelming majority voted in favor (790), while 33 rejected the proposed changes and 43 abstained.

To allow for those who could not vote electronically to participate, the Tellers recommend extending the paper balloting to July 19, 2017 and presented the following resolution:

RESOLUTION: To accept the current results of the vote by the Stevens Alumni Association regarding the adoption of a new Constitution and Bylaws as it stands. And, so as to act in the best interests of all participating, to stipulate an extension of time within which to allow alumni to cast a paper ballot by July 19. If by July 19 the plurality of vote maintains a two-thirds majority for approval, then the amended and restated Constitution and Bylaws will be ratified.

Motion – Tom Moschello; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

DiPompeo asked the room if there was any additional new business that needed to be addressed. John Dalton asked to present and propose the following resolution:

RESOLUTION: Be it resolved that the SAA expresses its everlasting gratitude to President Joseph DiPompeo for his patience, persistence, and professionalism in shepherding the SAA through the difficult and often contentious process of replacing an archaic 1906 Constitution and its cumbersome and outmoded processes. Through a series of meetings where differing views were voiced, Mr. DiPompeo never lost his composure, but remained focused on the ultimate goal: enacting a contemporary Constitution that would facilitate the SAA's role in support of our alma mater.

Today, the Tellers have reported that an updated Constitution has been approved by an overwhelming majority of alumni voting. Thanks to his steady hand at the helm, the SAA now will be governed by a document that should serve alumni well for generations to come.

Motion – John Dalton; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

RESOLUTION: To adjourn the June 19 meeting of the SAA Council.

Motion – Bruce Boylan; Seconded – Joe Schneider; Discussion – none; Vote – unanimous.

The meeting concluded at 8:34pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Fuest Executive Director