

Minutes of the Council Wesley J. Howe Center December 5, 2016

Attendance:

Enrique Blanco '72, Bruce Boylan '63, Leslie Brunell '86, Michael Cahill '15, Jeff Capone '91, Keith Cassidy '09, Leo Collins '59, John Dalton '60, Joe DiPompeo '98, Nicholas Gonzalez '14, Leon Hojegian '61, Tino Ivezaj '15, George Johnston '72, Andy Kaplan '09, Liz Lamb '15, Anita Lang Wenbo Liu '15, Dave Manhas '88, John McDonnell '72, Imran Merali '07, Charlie Perruzzi '63 Tyler Romeo '16, Kirit Sarvaiya '97 (phone), Roger Schatel '71, ShaQuill Thomas '15, Vicky Velasco '04, and Dave Zimmerman '90. Faculty/Staff: Melissa Fuest, Elissa Guss

Call to Order:

SAA President Joe DiPompeo '98 called the meeting to order at 5:35 pm.

DiPompeo shared the purpose of the SAA: *The Stevens Alumni Association is formed to establish, maintain, and cultivate among its members a sentiment of regard for one another and of attachment to Stevens Institute of Technology, and to promote in every way the interests of the institute.*

Melissa Fuest confirmed that there was a quorum: a minimum of twelve members of the SAA Council were present.

Approval of Minutes:

Minutes of the November 14, 2016, meeting of the Council were approved.

Motion – Enrique Blanco; Seconded – John Dalton; Vote – unanimous.

President's Report:

RESOLUTION: Thanks to the members of the Ad Hoc Constitution Committee for their time and commitment George Blazeski, Leo Collins (chair), Joe DiPompeo, Owen Jappen, George Johnston, Dave Manhas, Tom Moschello, Tori Blazeski, Brodie Remington, Rick Roscitt, Annmarie Rizzo, and Marty Valerio.

Motion – Peter Astor; Seconded – John Dalton; Vote – unanimous.

Teller's Report:

A total of 110 petitions were received: 87 were sent in and 23 were signed at the November 14, 2016, SAA meeting. The tellers validated 50 of the petitions: 43 of those sent and 7 of those signed at the meeting. The tellers confirm that the required 100 signatures needed to petition the Stevens Alumni Association in order to make a change to the 1906 Constitution was met.

New Business:

DiPompeo shared the next steps that will take place in the process to update the 1906 constitution. These steps include, but are not limited to: (1) acquiring ballots and signatures at upcoming events; (2) a message in the upcoming issue of the *Indicator* from DiPompeo; (3) a full mailing to the ~40,000 alumni with a cover letter from DiPompeo addressing the changes and outlining the instructions for valid ballots; and (4) the implementation of a comprehensive communications plan (emails, phone calls, volunteer outreach, and social media) to remind alumni to vote before March 15.

RESOLUTION: To adjourn the SAA Council meeting.

Motion – Enrique Blanco; Seconded – Andy Kaplan; Vote – unanimous.

The meeting concluded at 6:58pm.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Fuest Executive Director